Fly Tying
1hook

Legs on nymphs?

Just curious if you all prefer to actually tie legs of your nymphs or if you just use a spikey dubbing... Seems like dubbing gives the right impression, especially if fishing fast water. Maybe it makes more sense to go more realistic fishing slower water? What are your thoughts?

post-45089-0-78140600-1442078116_thumb.jpgpost-45089-0-82426000-1442078356_thumb.jpg

the only thing that comes to mind is 'it all depends' - on what the fish are desiring at the time. I don't know that fish would reject a nymph with hackle legs if they were taking a more realistic 'legged' nymph. Same with the teased dubbing leg over the hackled or more realistic legged nymph. They might, and they might not.

Although your picture of the the hackle legged nymph is a little out of focus, I can see the legs fine and they look good to me - even though I am no expert on nymph legs. The teased dubbing nymph looks alright too. Maybe it could be teased out a little more but..... I'm sure it will work - right time - right place.

I wish I could get consistent hackled legs like the one you show on the first fly. Ah, if I'd tie them more often, perhaps I would get more consistent.

Bottom line - nice flies.

1hook, I used to always try to add legs to my nymphs but it started to get rather difficult trying to get them out of my nymph box because they were always crawling around and trying to get away. Sorry, I know that I have a weird sense of humor. All joking aside, the only nymphs that I actually put legs on are some stonefly nymphs. On the pheasant tail nymphs I always tie in the fibers for the wingcase with the tips extending in front of the hook eye so that I can fold them back to represent legs. With most of the other nymphs I just let the dubbing do it for me. A soft hackle in front of or through the dubbing also works.

i'll put legs on stoneflies but i just pick out the dubbing on mostly everything else

i guess its tyers preference