Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
August9999

My first attempt at fly tying

This is my first attempt at tying a fly. It's a saltwater clouser tied on 1/0 hook.

This is my first attempt at tying a fly. It's a saltwater clouser tied on 1/0 hook.

image1.jpeg

Holy Crap! Are you sure you aren't a veteran tier that's pulling our leg?!?!?! ;) that's freakin great! Honestly one of the best first attempts I've ever seen. Some will say the wing is too flared, but I like the look of bulk it gives you without more hair. You can tie these sparser, or full like yours, but most tie them sparse. Great fly my friend!

I agree! Great looking fly my friend. I have only been tying since March and I have tied a few of the Clouser but I tend to tie mine more bulky than others as well. I figure as long as a fish hits it that is all that matters. Keep up the good job.

I also agree! You did a very good job for your first attempt! As Fisherboy said, they can be tied in various degree's of spareness or bulk. Much of that issue is in the materials you choose to use since bucktail does flare some. It's been mentioned here in these forums many times that the hair on the upper 1/3 of a deer tail is often better for tying this type of fly. Of course that too depends on the tail as all natural materials vary & sometimes greatly.