Fly Tying

Do you find it worth the extra few dollars to buy good hooks for both tying and fishing? Since i have begun fly tying i have been buying probably the cheapest hooks you can buy, bass pro white river hooks. But now that i have been tying and fishing for a few years now i am starting to wonder if it is worth the extra money to buy better hooks. Im not saying that the white river hooks have not been relatively good, im just not sure if i should be using better hooks. What are your guys thoughts on this. Are more expensive, yet better quality, hooks worth it? If so how much more so than hooks like bass pros or cabelas. Are they really that much better?

Thanks

I fish mostly for trout in colorado. But before I moved here I fished the California surf as my main fishing. I found for hooks that it was important to buy more expensive hooks for salt. The fish had really had mouths and you needed a hook that could preice it. For trout I tye 90% of the flies on Dai RikI hooks which are very cost effective. Little quality issues but nothing that really has dropped my fish count.

I normally tie with Mustad or Tiemco depending on the style of hook I want, but I also tie on eagle claw hooks from wal-mart if I just want a straight shank 2xh. I really don't notice much difference. Gamakatsu hooks I believe are the sharpest initially (and they actually do have a decent selection of fly tying hooks) based on how easily I stab myself with them. Whats the difference? Maybe the hook can hit five more rocks before it gets dull, hooks one more fish, rusts just as easily if not dried out, is slightly more brittle. So as long as you're not missing fish left and right on good sets, they're probably hooks just like all the others. (I always wonder if there is some little factory over in China churning out all the hooks and they just change the packaging)