Fly Tying
Streambum4trout

Years tying flies

I am new to this forum and was looking at everyone's post and all their great works of art and was wondering how many years of tying experience everyone has.. I have been tying flys for 21 years...How about you?

Welcome to the forum Streambum! You'll find a wealth of information and some very nice people here. If you haven't already, you might want to throw up a post in the "Introduce Yourself" section of the forum.

I started tying when my wife gave me a starter vise, tool kit and a few materials from Hook & Hackle for Christmas in 1996, so that's what...English major type here, not so good with the numbers :)...just over 21 years myself. Holy crap--where did that time go?!?

We're glad to have you here--make sure to post up some pics of your flies and fishing adventures when you get a chance!

Cheers,

Bryon

I started dressing buck tail jigs in the late 60's for an Uncle's business, actual fly patterns around 1978 after I finished my first enlistment in the Navy, that's when the addiction started, hanging around fly shops, (worldwide, some sailors ran to the nearest bar, some to church, and I to the local purveyor of fishing tackle) skinning dead animals on the roadside, and collecting fly tying and fishing materials.