Fly Tying
mikechell

My sandals are separating ...

Last week, while wading in muck on St. Mary's Lake, my sandals started separating where the toe straps go into the soles.

Has anyone ever repaired a pair of sandals using Shoe Goo or some other adhesive?

I know that if I use the wrong stuff, I won't be able to try again with another adhesive, since the first one can't be completely cleared out.

So, I am looking for someone with some experience that can steer me to the right adhesive for a first time permanent fix.

I've tried that. Sneakers or tennis shoes ... I have two problems with them.

If I wear them without socks, I get sand in their and I get blisters.

If I wear them with socks, they get loose when they get wet, and I get blisters. And in warm water, socks actually make me feel hotter.

I've been wading with sandals for several years, and really like it. I can wave my foot through the water and wash out any sand that gets in there. I feel much cooler with water flowing around me feet. I've had, and ruined cheap sandals. The pair I have now are a little higher quality, but still not an "expensive" pair of wading sandals.

I am trying to get another season or so out of them.

Boy you are cheap aren't you...Unless you are talking trying to fix $80 flip flops.

I'm cheap too sometimes..I've tried numerous CA glues, Barge Cement, Shoo Goo and Epoxies in the past none of them lasted more than a day or two.

Spend the $5 and buy some new flip flops and make poppers out of your broke ones.

wink.png

Edit:

On a side note I swore I'd never pay more than $5-$10 for a pair of flip flops...I get a few months out them and they fall apart in some way. My wife went out and bought me some good ones once(I was upset with her) like $65 or something,well they lasted almost two years.

How about the cheap O water shoes at Wally World...$5-$10 and they last longer than flip flops. It's what I wear wet wadding.