Fly Tying
john1962

Yvon's soft hackle pheasent tail

I interested in tying both the dry fly and bedhead size14.

My question is the pattern calls for grey partridge hackle.

I find only natural, brown, black and yellow.

Would natural be considered a good choice.

Tightline

I get that, my problem is the pattern calls for gray hackle.

Google hungarian partridge hackle only the colors brown, natural,black,and olive are listed.

I guess gry and natural the same thing, I am new to fly tying.

Tightlines

hungarian partridge would be the gray partridge hackle identified in the above recipes

and is what is used in yvons youtube video

The gray partridge hackle is at the neck, the brown is over the back. If you get a natural partridge pelt, you get a mix, some have better gray, some better browns, some a good mix. Best to buy in person at a trusty vendor or at least on phone from someone you trust. Here's one on eBay looks good for lots of gray

Screenshot_20240308-150536.thumb.png.ec1393ca6e6fe473e8ebbcf652fc306a.png

Here's one from the same seller better for browns maybe, hard to tell from the pic. Mixed bag

Screenshot_20240308-150618.thumb.png.e65bca87eca7ee76acbd9067ba27eaa1.png

Best to buy in person.

I wouldn't buy either one of those, just showing you for the pics

If you want a sample of each (nat gray, nat brown), pm me your address and I'll mail you a few feathers of each to see what you're aiming for.

Thank you, now it's clear. I'm on my way to the eastern sierras Tuesday, I'm going to either stop at a fly shop here in tuscon Monday or a fly shop on 395 end of next week. 

I won't get any mail delivery till I reach Coleville California walker river is calling.

Tightlines

3 hours ago, john1962 said:

I interested in tying both the dry fly and bedhead size14.

My question is the pattern calls for grey partridge hackle.

I find only natural, brown, black and yellow.

Would natural be considered a good choice.

Tightline