Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Hanapaa808

Pedestal Base or C-Clamp....That is the question

Hello All,

This forum is great and helpful. I have to thank you ahead of time for the answers. I've already found a couple of great sources for tungsten beads for midges that are alot less then the local flyfishing store.

What do you recommend and why? Pedestal or C-clamp base for your vise.

I would think pedestal is better even when traveling because you can put it anywhere on a flat top. But then again I'm the beginner and you're the experts.

Thanks,

Tony

l've always preferred pedestal because I don't like the vice at the edge of the table. And it's a little quicker to move around.

Tony,

I'm no expert, only been tying for a couple years. My preference is a pedestal base. Reason being their easier in my opinin to move and you don't need to find a place to secure the c clamp. Second reason the girlfriend almost killed me when she came home from work one day and i had my vise clamped to her beloved table. I made a pretty crude pedestal base in the machine shop I used to work in that I still use on occasion when I move away from my crude but effective tying bench. Best of luck in your future fishing adventures.

Josh

I prefer pedestal bases. I covered the bottoms of my bases with foam so they neither mar furniture nor skid when I am really reefing on kevlar ties. If I want to change the viewing aspect of a fly , I just nudge the base into the new position rather than having to unscrew a clamp and tighten it back up. I found out the hard way that a screw clamp can destroy the finish on good furniture. Mostly, I guess I like pedestals because I am used to them. I have used pedestals for about 40 years.

My 2 cents.

Recommend you use the search function to review past threads. Frequent topic, but you have already answered the question. If you travel or move your vise much, the pedestal is better.

Having said that, let the usual ravings begin...