Fly Tying

The click pawl, not the disc.  It's my favorite reel, English made.  My fishing buddy recently bought a new CFO III, made in America.  It's a nice reel, looks to be quality made.  Sounds like my English reel, and meets all the same specs.  It's black, while my reel is grey.  Parts aren't interchangeable.

I like mine better.  I've got another clicker Orvis, made in England but not machined like the CFO.  Glad to see clickers are still on the market.  Those are my favorites.

👍 👍 👍

I have never owned an Orvis reel that disappointed me.  I've been buying them for about 25 years, and guided with them.  You might imagine what some (inexperienced or careless) clients can do to equipment!  In all that time I've seen them dropped on rocks, ground in sand, banged on branches to remove ice, etc.  The CFO Reel (Charles Frederick Orvis) has a long history (1971) which you can read about if you're interested (link below).  I actually have one of the first CFO III Disc reels, Made in England, serial numbered "introductory editions".  I've never been much of a "collector", but I'm certainly an enthusiastic "user" of Orvis products.  

p.s.  Orvis makes fine fly rods as well.  The latest Helios 3 is a fine example . . .     

Regards,

http://therustyspinner.blogspot.com/p/history-of-orvis-cfo_5.html         

I have 1 Orvis fly-rod. I don't know if they do the 25 year guarantee, but when I had 2 fly-rods break,they honored the warranty and sent me a new rod.At first I was disappointed when I didnt get the same rod back,but the replacement rod was nicer than the rod I sent in. Their gear is top notch. 

I ran over mine and bent the frame.  A guy my fishing buddy knows straightened it out and the damage doesn't show at all.  Hence, no damage. Mine is loaded with 5 wt. line.

I have a couple click-pawl, made in England, CFO IIIs. I fished with one this week. It's still one of the best, simply designed, trout reels.