Fly Tying
Poopdeck

Good bye flies

So I tie a lot of flies just to see how different materials are to work with, how it might mesh with other materials, and most importantly how it fishes. I tie flies and put them in my boxes to test. I only carry a handful of fly boxes at a time so every winter I go through my boxes and remove worn flies, flies I didn’t like and flies I never fished. Here are some that I will recycle the hook and tie some more testers for the new year. I was wondering what everybody else does with all the flies we may tie?

IMG_8404.jpeg

flies.jpg

i have 3 boxes like this

ive been giving flies away on various swaps

i'll never use them in the time i have left on earth

flies-6.jpg

salmon and steelhead flies i'l never use

flies-7.jpg

Streamers i'll never use

I've been tying for 15 years or so and as I get a little bit more accomplished at the craft some of the surviving flies that I tied say 5 years ago now look amateurish to my eye. However as they still will catch fish I'm not quite ready to cut them down.  So I have a box of "seconds".   These are either flies that I know I can do a better job of tying now or flies that for whatever reason just have never produced on my local trout streams.   My seconds box is kept in my micro pack which I use for Blue Gill, Fall Fish and River Herring on nearby streams.  When I'm short on time I can go fishing without making a huge production out of it.  When I trout fish I have my vest, 5 boxes of flies, net, waders, base layers, boots, wading staff and a 30 to 60 minute car ride.  It's really nice to have the option to grab my micro pack with the box of seconds, a pair of Muck boots and walk 936' from my back door.  The great thing about fishing seconds is that I can get really brave about where I'm casting them.  If I loose them, and I often do, so what?  They weren't perfect anyway.  

The Winter purge is in progress right now - I go through one box at a time.  

IMG20240103080902.jpg