Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
PAPA VV

Estonian Jungle Cock Skins on Ebay

Hi,

Have been noticing a lot of jungle cock skins on EBAY from someone in Estonia. I did a search here on the forum and noticed some guys have bought jungle cock on Ebay with some satisfaction. But has anybody bought from the Estonian seller and been satisfied with their purchase? Is it even legal to purchase from that site? I am a newbie and really looking for practice materials before I get into quality ties. Also looking for a good place to purchase a silver pheasant skin. Thanks for your help

PAPA VV

i would practice using starling feathers as a substitute for jungle cock before shelling out big bucks.

you have no location in your profile so we dont know if you live in the USA or on the moon :dunno:

I don't think it wise to bid/purchase JC on eBay unless you have had previous satisfactory transactions with the seller. Prices for a JC skin run from about $40 to $350! The quality of the capes range from very poor to extremely good. But you don't always get what you pay for. When possible, examine the skin before buying. If you can't fondle the feathers yourself buy from a company or individual you trust. Or get some recommendations from fellow tyers. If you gamble on eBay you should be prepared to be either disappointed or pleasantly surprised.

Your chances of buing a silver pheasant skin are very low unless it has been around for a while or the bird was grown in the US. Bird flu has kept those hides out of the country. You can buy strung feathers, check with your local fly shop.

Hey Papa, I can only tell you my experience with the Estonian seller on ebay. I bought a very decent neck for a very decent

price. Shipping is reasonable, though it takes a couple weeks to arrive. PM me if you want more info.

The seller has AWESOME feedback and a lot of it from different buyers. I would not be in the least bit worried to buy from him (if I needed any JC). Prices are great also.